Hi folks. It is May 22 and it actually feels closer to summer. It actually was warm enough for anyone to ware shorts and a t-shirt, or even a muscle shirt outside without feeling uncomfortable. For me, I took advantage of this warmth over the long weekend and now it is back to more typical Mayweather for the rest of the month, with rain possibly rearing its head throughout the next few days.

On Friday I got a follow up email from NWR on something I had reported about Buffalo KEB98 being either off the air, or repeating a stay alive message. On May 8th it was off the air for a time and on May 15th it had been looping a stay alive message, stating that the NWR station was currently off the air and that listeners should use the website and maybe, listen to another surrounding WXR. Well, both times the problem had been taken care of by the time the RWT had happened. It was Sherri Glover who had called me back, even though I did not mention my phone number in my message on the NWR voicemail. Anyway, I did send her an email and I will make sure that she gets this post, so that she knows that she’s been acknowledged. Anyway, let’s acknowledge the RWTs this week. Before that, here is something for you to listen to, while you need something to keep your brain stimulated. I like weather and I like music too. I also like cars and of course, I also am a fan of radios. Have you ever thought how we got from having no radio in the car, to having not just a receiver, but also the ability to listen to music on all sorts of formats? Unfortunately, I don’t know how WX radios were introduced into cars and school buses, but I would like to find that out and maybe, do something on that in a future newsletter post. Anyway, check this out and some of you may know the voice telling the story, while others may not. https://youtu.be/_KJ60im4KAc?si=t5J3aY0-48wlh1Zr

Bill Curry:

Required Weekly SAME test received

XLW573 Yarmouth, Nova Scotia 162.475

12:55 PM – 22 May 2024

From The Author:

Buffalo KEB98 (162.550 MHz) (RWT) 11:04 AM EDT. Toronto (XMJ225 162.400 MHz.) (RWT) 12:00 PM EDT. Niagara VAD 320 (162.475 MHz) (RWT) 12:01 PM EDT.

Gary Ranson:

Required Weekly SAME test received

XLK497 Middleton, Nova Scotia 162.550 MHz

12:01PM ADT – 22 May 2024

Sangean CL-100

VE1HFM

Jacques Pannetier:

Weekly Test Report!

KIG60 162.400MHz Mt. Mansfield, VT: 11:03AM

XLM300 162.550MHz Montréal, QC: 12:02PM

XLR412 162.475MHz Sherbrooke, QC: *No signal

(Eastern time)

Notes:

-Observations from Montréal: Signal strength is weak from Mt. Mansfield VT and Sherbrooke QC couldn’t be heard at all.

-1050Hz test: Passed (KIG60)

Voilà!