Hi folks. It is June 12 and it was cool for a couple of days where I live. It is beginning to warm up and hopefully by next week it will be as hot as an oven.

On Monday it was WWDC with Apple being the most visible and the company I keep track of the most. After all, I use an iPhone every day including composing blog posts like this. Anyway, I have heard that new voices were coming to the iPhone and iPad, for those of us who use VoiceOver and so far, I have not heard what they are. One person (who is a beta tester) said that they didn’t notice any new voices yesterday, in my attempt to get ahead of any podcasters doing episodes on iOS18 and particularly, AppleVis Podcast. This is the one most relevant to myself and others who may be reading this who are blind and visually impaired, who use VoiceOver regularly. After all, we need it to navigate the iPhone and any weather apps we use. Even I need it to help with composing blog posts like this and inserting links to Youtube videos I think you would like. Anyway, my hope is that I find out next week as to what new voices are coming and if you are an NWR listener, I hope that Paul is one of them. Some of you may know the voice as Paul Jr., but I and others know him as Paul. Anyway, I digress.

Other than that, I don’t have anything to pass along as far as news on Weatheradio Canada and so, we will move onto the weekly tests. Except, I want to share a story from a podcast I have been subscribed to since 2021 and by a friend of mine. If you live in Southern Ontario you will know the name Larry Fedoruk and if it rings a bell outside of Ontario, good. Larry was born in Wakaw Saskatchewan and that is important to the story and his podcast called I Was 8 and it’s one of my favourite episodes. Besides, I loved going on trips as a boy, whether it was with my parents, school or daycamp. Although in the case of camp, I would’ve rather have gone on a school bus rather than taking public transit to the various attractions we went to in Toronto, with the last couple of camps I went to up to age 13. Anyway, enjoy. https://youtu.be/DHAvi6mW7YY?si=ISKjvjdlJN3dx4jx

From The Author:

Buffalo KEB98 (162.550 MHz) (RWT) couldn’t hear it well enough dew to poor reception. Toronto (XMJ225 162.400 MHz.) (RWT) 12:02 PM EDT. Niagara VAD 320 (162.475 MHz) (RWT) 12:02 PM EDT.

Bill Curry:

Required Weekly SAME test received

XLW573 Yarmouth, Nova Scotia 162.475

12:03 PM – 12 June 2024

Jacques Pannetier:

Weekly Test Report!

KIG60 162.400MHz Mt. Mansfield, VT: 11:03AM

XLM300 162.550MHz Montréal, QC: 12:02PM

(Eastern time)

Notes:

-Observations from Montréal: Signal strength is good from Mt. Mansfield VT; XLR12 Sherbrooke QC couldn’t be heard at all.

-1050Hz test: passed (with KIG60)

Voilà!